Michelle Madow Interview and Woman Crush Wednesday Road Trip

1) When did you first realize you wanted to be a writer?

I’ve always loved writing (I’ve been writing stories since second grade) but it wasn’t until college that I realized it was something I wanted to pursue professionally. I took an Intro to Creative Writing class in my junior year of college, and for our first homework assignment we had to turn in a short story or a first chapter of a novel and read it out loud to the class. I wrote the first chapter of my first book, Remembrance. My teacher and classmates LOVED it (they said it was the best piece out of everyone in the class) and told me that they needed to know what happened next. Their encouragement inspired me to write the full book – I completed Remembrance by the end of that school year

2) What would you say is your interesting writing quirk?

I don’t know if it’s a “quirk,” but my signature style in all my books is that they’re fast paced. I don’t spend a lot of time on scenery, descriptions, and flowery language. When describing something, I choose the one thing that makes it stand out, mention that, and let the reader’s imagination take over from there. I get straight to the point of the heart and action in the story.

3) Where do you get your information or ideas for your books?

From different places! For Elementals, I literally thought— “wouldn’t it be cool if I walked into a class expecting it to be normal, and then discovered that it was a secret class for students who were witches?” Remembrance was inspired by Taylor Swift’s “Love Story” music video, and The Secret Diamond Sisters was inspired by multiple trips to Las Vegas. The standalone that I’ll be releasing in February was inspired by a dream. Book ideas come from everywhere!

 

4) Do you have a current work in progress or a book coming out soon? Tell us about them

I’m currently drafting the fifth and final book of the Elementals series, Elementals 5: The Hands of Time. I’m nearing the end stretch of the book, which is exciting! I think readers will be pleased with the ending. It releases on November 25, 2016. In February 2017, I’m releasing a standalone YA romantic thriller that has a parallel world twist. (That book is already written!) Also in 2017, expect the start of a vampire trilogy, and a standalone book in a coalition series about fallen angels.

5) Which is your favorite character, couple or thing to write about?

I love writing about new experiences that challenge you and teach you more about who you are as a person—which is something that I think EVERY book should include. Scenes with a lot of dialogue tend to be my favorite to write.

 

Here are the candidates for #WCW from Michelle’s Elemental series: Nicole Cassidy and Danielle Emerson both are part of the series Main group of Heroes….. and for our road trip destination we have Narnia!

narniamap

 

Leave a Reply

