J.N. Tomczak author Interview

Today’s feature author is J.N. Tomczak or by her full name Julianne Nicole Tomczak she’s the author to the Edenheart Rivalry.

Author Pic

When did you first realize you wanted to be a writer?  I was thirteen at the time when I discovered my love of reading.  I was amazed a book could make you feel so many emotions. That’s when I decided to take writing seriously.


What is your work schedule like when you’re writing? I really don’t have one. It’s whenever I feel like writing, which is most of the time since I’m a stay-at-home wife.


What would you say is your interesting writing quirk? The fact I don’t plan anything.  I can just jump right in and know where I’m going.


Where do you get your information or ideas for your books?
  Lots of things. Games. Movies. Dreams. Pictures. Music. I’m always on Pinterest.


When did you write your first book and how old were you?
I was thirteen when I wrote the first draft to EDENHART’S RIVALRY.  That was eleven years ago!

What do you like to do when you’re not writing? I love to hang out with my husband and go see a movie.  I also loving hiking, drawing, and reading.

What does your family think of your writing?  They love having an author in the family. 😉

What was one of the most surprising things you learned in creating your books?  The Lore!  There’s sooooo much about this world I’ve created, and I still feel like I’ve only scratched the surface.

How many books have you written? Which is your favorite? I’ve written a lot, but as for completing and publishing one, that would be EDENHART’S RIVALRY.  Although the stand-a-lone I’m currently working on is already working toward my top favorite. 😉

Speaking of favorites which is your favorite character, couple or thing to write about? My favorite character is Aurora, and I love writing the dynamic relationship between her and the goblin Skean.  They’re sworn enemies, yet working together for a mutual cause.  It’s interesting when these two are on the same page together.  But that’s all I can say without spoiling anything. 😉  You’ll find out.

Do you have any suggestions to help me become a better writer? If so, what are they? Everything I’ve learned about writing I’ve taught myself.  Read from the BEST in the genre you’re interested in writing about. STUDY how they word things, when they start a new paragraph, the dialogue between characters.  Find out what makes their writing tick and try to find a balance between their writing and yours to find your own voice.  Keep a notebook nearby so you can write down new words you’ve never seen before.  It helps broaden your vocabulary.  I find writing them down helps me remember things better.  And know that this skill takes time to master.  It took me eleven years to find confidence in my own writing.  But the time and dedication I’ve put toward my passion has made a huge difference in my life. 

Do you hear from your readers much? What kinds of things do they say? Since I’m still an upcoming author, I’m still growing a readership.  Although small, I cherish the readers I do have that take the time to chat with me.  It always makes my day. Usually they’re begging for the next book. 😉

What do you think makes a good story? The story itself.  This is something I’ve taken note of over the years.  You could have the most error-free book out there, but if the story and the characters aren’t engaging, it’s going to fall flat on its face.  I know, harsh, but the truth usually is.

What have you found most helpful in marketing your book?  What have you found least helpful?  Is there anything you want to warn authors to stay far, far away from?  Two of the most helpful marketing tools are connecting with people and readers a like and blog tours.  The least helpful is basically not doing anything at all to market your book.  Also, for authors, be extra wary who you send your manuscripts to.  You SHOULDN’T pay anything!  If they ask for money, RUN!

Who created your cover art?  If you did it yourself, could you explain how you did it?  If someone else did it, how did you hear about their services?  What was it like working with them?  Cora at Cora Graphics. Her work is AMAZING!  My publisher connected us so we could work together on the cover art.  Take note that I’m blessed to have this opportunity.  Most authors don’t have much of a say so on their covers, unfortunately.  I basically made a mock cover of what I wanted, and she did it, only better.

 Do you have an editor?  Did you edit your own manuscript?  Do you have advice for other authors editing it themselves or hiring someone else?  I have three editors.  And yes, I edit my own work first.  This stage is called the “pre-edits.”  I don’t have any experience with editors for hire, but I edit as I go along.  Some authors do it afterwards. It’s a writing preference.  But take your time with the editing.  Check to make sure there are no awkward sentences, make sure you’re using your commas and things like that correctly, and always remember LESS is MORE.  Sometimes it’s better to use a simpler word in place of something else.  It helps cut down on the word count and tightens your writing.  Also, whenever possible, show, DON’T tell.  A lot of readers dislike being spoon fed.  Instead of saying, “She saw the bird glide across the sky…” say something like, “The bird glided across the sky…”  It’s understood the MC is seeing this without us being TOLD.  This is just an example.

 Where have you decided to publish your books?  (Amazon, Barnes and Noble, Smashwords, etc.)  My publisher sets it up for me with Amazon, Barnes and Noble, and Smashwords.

 Did you format your own book?  Did you run into any trouble formatting it?  Do you have any advice to fellow authors about formatting their books?  I format it to meet my publisher’s requirements.  They send me the info for that.  It’s not difficult at all.  As for formatting it for Ebook, my publisher handled that.  With my manuscripts, I double-space everything.  I make sure my margins are set correctly and that there’s a hard return before AND after chapters and scene breaks.  The show paragraph marks tool in Word helps with this, so you can see them.  Otherwise, they’re invisible.
The Kingdom of the Faeries: Edenhart’s Rivalry

One thought on “J.N. Tomczak author Interview

Leave a Reply

