Review: Say What You Will by Cammie McGovern

18635084

Rating: 5/5 stars

Genre: YA Contemporary

This has turned into one of my favorite books of all time.
I have cerebral palsy (a very similar type to the one that Amy has), and I also had a best friend who I believe has OCD; having said that, in my opinion this book was an accurate portrayal of physical disabilities and mental illness (Forgot to mention that I suffer from mental illness as well). It’s the first book ever that I have finished reading in one sitting, it made me cry, it made me angry, it made me laugh… I wasn’t too much of a fan of the ending at first but for the following week after I finished the book, I couldn’t stop thinking about it and it grew on me.

I’m seeing some reviews stating that the book is immature, that the main character is selfish, etc. But this book is a reality, not everyone who is disabled is gonna be humble, a brave and brilliant example of life ,or any other motivational garbage that you can think of. We’re people just like you,keep that in mind if you ever decide to pick up this book. Also, I believe the level of maturity given to the characters was just right, they are high school seniors who have basically been sheltered their whole lives and are just starting to live. I’ll end this by saying that I had very high expectations for this book and it did not let me down. The 5 stars given are well-deserved. – Nash

 

 

Leave a Reply

